Cotoneaster ready for styling

Today I got a few snaps showing the attractive berries on this Cotoneaster that I grew from a hardwood cutting a few years ago.  I’ve got a few of this species either growing in pots or the ground but this is the only one that displays red berries and I really like it at this time of the year.  Back in May it had some tiny white flowers so this is a future bonsai that I know I’ll enjoy looking at throughout the year.

20150213_200521

I hope to give it a first styling soon, perhaps at a club night with a bit of advice from others.  There’s a couple of options that I can see: a cascade using the drooping branch at the back right, perhaps a slanting shohin using the thicker main trunk, maybe even being drastic and chopping most off to create an upright mame bonsai.  I’m open to suggestions 🙂

P.S. Can anyone confirm is this a Cotoneaster Microphylla?

Leave a Reply

