Time for bubblewrap!

No pictures, just a note that tonight will see the first frost at the end of this growing season. I was driving home in the car tonight and it was apparently due to be around 2 degrees.  Temperature fluctuated from 3.5 to zero depending on where I was on the five mile journey and it made me think about microclimates on an even smaller scale in my garden.  So when I got home I brought my most vulnerable trees into the greenhouse (larch, cedar, Japanese maple and hornbeam all slow to recover after significant rootpruning earlier in the year) and wrapped the ceramic pots in bubblewrap for insulating the roots.  Other trees in the garden were placed off the ground in more sheltered locations that may be a degree or two warmer than exposed parts of the garden.  Time to start paying more attention to the weather forecast!

Leave a Reply

