Chinese Elm Winter Defoliation

My Chinese Elm has been finally changing colour  and some leaves have been starting to fall so I thought I’d speed things up and defoliate the entire tree.  It’s normally kept outside and last year I did the same thing as it seems very reluctant to drop its leaves, even in these cold temperatures.  I’ve found that if I keep the leaves on, then they turn ugly and die just as the new flush of growth appears in Spring and the whole image is quite ugly.   Yesterday I wanted to have a look at  how the branch structure is developing so I spent an hour manually removing the leaves.  Haven’t got round to any pruning yet but will do so hopefully before I return to work next week.

DSC_0554 DSC_0555

DSC_0569 DSC_0570 DSC_0571

The ramification is improving but the tree has yet to be wired in the last four years.  I plan to do this late in 2015.  I think rootpruning is more of a priority as water has been pooling on the surface of the soil.  I use a surface covering of Akadama but think this is now breaking down after two years and is clogging up the pot.  Another reason for repotting first is that I’m unhappy with the current front.  More on that in another post.

One thought on “Chinese Elm Winter Defoliation

  1. The ramification is looking nice on this one! I love working with Chinese elms, they’re so hardy and they bounce back so quickly.

    By the way, I’ve nominated your blog for the One Lovely Blog award. Check out mind your dirt for more details!

    Happy new Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

