Club night Jan 15

Some nice trees/material being worked on by members  at the latest NIBS meeting on Friday night.

DSC_0574

European Beech Forest

DSC_0589

Elm (I think!)

DSC_0592

Red leaved Japanese Maple

I practised a bit of wiring and styling of a young Japanese Black Pine that I’m training into a literati image.

DSC_0588

Before

 

 

DSC_0591

After

I pruned it in favour of the thinner trunk to get rid of the upper fork and promote better taper.  It’s hard to see the movement in the tree in the photo but it is there.  Over the next few years I’ll keep upper growth very short and build up two or three branch pads.  I’m going to allow the lower/bottom buds free growth and then prune or jin them eventually.

 

Leave a Reply

