Cotoneaster Microphylla repot

20150213_200521

Before

My apologies for the hideous ‘before’ shot of this cotoneaster that I repotted and pruned at the most recent club night.  It’s been growing unchecked in this pot for two years and after six months of looking at it and trying to decide what to do, I thought I’d repot it and let the roots help me decide how to style it in future.  Anyway, I was always thinking a small cascade would be likely and this remains true but there’s always the option for a shohin/mame tree if I don’t like the cascade.  The long, thick section of the primary branch does bother me a bit but we’ll see how it fills out and lengthens.  All being well, I’ll wire in autumn.

20150213_211351

Good lower trunk and nebari potential.

DSC_0737

After.

 

DSC_0738

Close up

DSC_0739

Reverse

 

One thought on “Cotoneaster Microphylla repot

  1. Pingback: Back in the Game | Scratch Bonsai

Leave a Reply

