Literati False Cypress

I posted about this tree last year when I was given it by my father.  Finally time to see what the roots were like and repot it out of this bucket into something shallower.

DSC_0754

Before

DSC_0770

After

A flared nebari was uncovered and I was able to remove a substantial amount of root as it was surprisingly all fine and there was no heavy roots to prune at all.  It was hosed out and filled with an improved drainage mixture and some mycorrizhae fungi that I bought at a garden centre.  I reduced quite a bit of the lower foliage as it will probably be jinned at some point.  I haven’t removed any of the upper foliage yet but will do in the next few days once I have time to have a better look and decide on future styling.  I’m excited about the future of this tree and with it’s great nebari and old flaky bark I  imagine it to hopefully produce a literati Scots Pine like image.  I’ll see how it responds before deciding on when to wire.

 

One thought on “Literati False Cypress

  1. Pingback: Sawara Cypress Repot | Scratch Bonsai

Leave a Reply

