Another One Bites the Dust

Ah well, there’s normally at least one casualty each year but at least they are getting fewer and I’m trying to learn from my mistakes.  This little serissa foetida cutting from a previous post has died after repotting/rootpruning earlier this year.

DSC_1190

Dead.

It was a softwood cutting from a parent bonsai two years ago and I had hopes to create mame bonsai from it but I must have repotted it too early in the year.  I thought it would be safe because it was an indoor plant but I suppose the house was still too cold for it! I want to repot the parent tree this year but hope I haven’t left it too late as it’s been putting on new growth for a while now.  Any advice anyone hasd on repotting indoor trees would be appreciated!  In the meantime, this one joins the ‘RIP’ folder on my computer.

 

2 thoughts on “Another One Bites the Dust

  1. I feel your pain, man. I lost a much more developed Serissa by pruning it too hard when I repotted. They are extremely sensitive trees! Very sad, but we learn from our mistakes…

    Like

Leave a Reply

