Triple Trunk Zelkova

Aug 11

August 2011

Finally, my Zelkova is starting to look like promising bonsai material! It was bought as a wee twin trunk ‘tree’ five years ago as you can see above but I wanted it bigger so I took it out of the bonsai pot it was in and placed it into a free draining mix in the cut down flower pot above.

DSCN4767

May 2012

This definitely helped and for a couple of years I continued to feed heavily to bulk up the trunks.  Two years ago I decided to have a proper rootprune to determine the nebari and hoped to cut away the nasty knuckle you can see in the photo above.  While doing so I realised that I’d been had.  It wasn’t one tree but in fact two trunks with a separate root mass each.  The nebari on each trunk was very poor (the knuckle and not much else belonging to the thicker trunk) so I decided to separate and reposition the trunks in the ground, hoping that they would fuse a lot faster and into a wider rootbase.  I lifted the project yesterday.

DSC_0202

March 2016

Only two years in the ground and it has grown substantially.  The trunks now have some age to them and are sturdier with some movement too.  I clawed away the ground soil and washed the surface to see what had happened to the base of the trunks.

DSC_0203

They appeared to be solid and have finally fused properly.  A lot of tidying up of the surface was needed.

DSC_0204

You can see where the minor trunk was placed in the nook at the base of the major trunk with the large root wrapping around it.  No separating of the trunks this time round.  I was pleasantly surprised.

DSC_0205

Next step was to reduce the top growth to determine the trunk lines and primary branches.

DSC_0207

 

It was place into a deep pot that was going spare.  The above photo shows the best angle for nebari.

DSC_0206

And here it is.  I’ve deliberately left the trunks taller than I intend the final height to be, mostly because there wasn’t much to cut back to in the upper reaches.  I left the lower growth alone to continue to thicken the lower trunks.  I like the way the apex of each trunk points to the one side, giving the tree definite flow.  Two years ago I nearly gave up on this material because I didn’t think it would make a formal upright tree.  Glad I persevered with it and am excited about starting to develop it in a pot.

Future actions:

  1.  Keep the top closely pruned and think about wiring later in the year if it recovers well.
  2. A typical twin trunk bonsai has the major trunk upright and the minor flowing away from it.  Should I aim for this or does it work as it is having the major trunk leaning away to your left?
One thought on “Triple Trunk Zelkova

  1. For me the major trunk should be upright like “mother daughter” but your tree!!!! LoL! Well done on staying with it😀. Bryan

    Like

Leave a Reply

