Creating Beech Group Part 1

DSC_0279

You may be wondering why I’m posting the above picture of my son but if you look closely you may notice tell tale signs of bonsai related activity…

Work out what it is yet?

Yes, you’re right, he was sieving pink cat litter on a windy day and unfortunately for him, he was standing downwind. Darned dust!! I had to open a new bag for more repotting work and he was keen to help out.  Some great memories formed today as Jonah and I set about creating a European Beech forest. Unfortunately we didn’t finish the project but will do asap.

DSC_0277

Garden centre saplings

DSC_0276

Plus bulked up garden material

DSC_0278

Tray prepped

DSC_0280

Garden material dug up and Jonah removed the old leaves.

DSC_0281

All material washed and graded according to trunk girth.

We ran out of daylight hours so I wrapped them in wet newspaper and placed them in a bag in my garage (More late frost expected tonight!). Twelve saplings to choose from, I know an odd number is traditionally used so I may drop the least suitable.  We’ll see once I start placing them together tomorrow.  I’m off to read what Peter Adams has to say about it.  Part 2 coming soon…

3 thoughts on “Creating Beech Group Part 1

  1. Keep them pretty tight together Ben. I see a lot of forest made and the trees are all spaced out and it looks like the forestry dept has planted them. I look forward to seeing the final results.

    Great to have a son involved. I hope he sticks at it. My Matthew started it for a while but lost interest. Maybe he’ll come back to it one day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

