Field Growing Oak

Now that leaves have mostly dropped and trees are almost dormant, time to do an annual prune of material growing in the beds.  This oak was a seedling planted this year.  It fairly thrived but had too many branches coming from a single point on the trunk, and these had to be thinned out to avoid inverse taper.

dsc_0426dsc_0427dsc_0428

Lower branches left on to allow thickening.  I’d like this to be quite a chunky tree so I’ll keep new growth short next year.

11 thoughts on “Field Growing Oak

  1. Hey Ben,
    Owen here from the Leinster club. We’re holding a workshop in Dublin with Harry Harrington on Feb 19th if your interested in attending. It’s £45 for the day. Food included. Let me know either way yeah

    Keep up the good work there man your trees are coming along nicely.

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed this. So do you grow other plants from scratch, not just Bonsai trees? They don’t have miniature oak trees do they? Keep up the great work. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! Mostly just bonsai trees but I’ve found that this has stimulated an interest in the garden as a whole too. I don’t believe there is such a variety as a miniature oak but rather it’s a normal oak seedling that if left untrained would grow into a normal oak tree that you may find in a park or the wild. It’s the process that makes it a bonsai tree, not the particular species.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi!

    I like your site and thanks for following me as well. I just wanted to give you pointer (I know we all love those :D) but I just want to help.

    If you don’t let this oak grow unchecked, you’ll never fatten up that trunk and the other branches will simply catch up. Here Harry explains it well and I have the same experience unfortunately. http://bonsai4me.com/AdvTech/ATCollectedBeechProgressionSeries.htm

    Let it grow for the next two years and then chop it back hard. Also after a couple or few years pull it out and cut back the roots so they don’t grow out too far. I know Oaks love to have nothing to do with nebari.
    This is a great article as well: http://walter-pall-bonsai.blogspot.cz/2013/05/how-i-discovered-hedge-pruning-method.html

    Good luck and keep the stories coming!

    Thomas

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Thomas,
      Thanks for the info and links. I have to admit that sometimes it is hard to resist interfering with trees while in the ground but in this case I felt it necessary due to the ugly inverse taper. I figured it was best to correct that now. One of the biggest problems I’ve encountered with growing material in the ground is getting movement in the lower trunk . I’m realising that this is crucial in order to avoid ugly trunk chops in future. Unfortunately a lot of my material was just placed in the ground in an upright fashion a few years ago and I’m having to rectify this now either by pruning or wiring while in the ground. Thanks again for the reminder!

      Like

Leave a Reply

