Partial Defoliation of a European Beech

I bought this early last year from an auction at the local club.  It’s the biggest bonsai I have and it was grown from scratch by someone else over a long period! I can only hope my efforts at field growing turn out as well in 20+ years.  Anyway, it spent last year recovering from being lifted from the ground and this year flushed out pretty strongly.  I read up a bit on defoliating beech and am informed that they don’t like entire removal of foliage but only partial and a leaf must be left on the end of each branch as a sap drawer.  There’s a lot of ramification to develop and I wanted the inner branches to receive more light so I was selective.

DSC_0611DSC_0610DSC_0612

I think that the tree would benefit from a tilt at repotting time  so that the trunk is more vertical.  We’ll see.  I’ll branch prune and wire in the autumn.

3 thoughts on “Partial Defoliation of a European Beech

  1. It’s happy Ben. Good to see more light getting in past the outer canopy now. Any reason for leaving the extension shoots from this year so long? Branch thickening? I’d normally prune these back to the first 2/3 leaves on the new growth. I have Josh’s beech here for summer care, they’ll be here for the July study group if you can make it for a look.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

